# East Region Town Hall "ERTH"

## A Municipal Advisory Council

## of the Eastern Region of District 3 in Lake County

# **By Laws**

## **Article 1: Name and Purpose**

The name of the organization shall be the East Region Town Hall (ERTH). ERTH is a Municipal Advisory Council.

The purpose of ERTH is to increase the participation of the residents of the East Region of Supervisor District 3 in decisions affecting the community. The East Region of District 3 consists of zip codes 95443, 95423 and the unincorporated areas of 95422. This includes Glenhaven, Clearlake Oaks, Spring Valley, Double Eagle, High Valley, Elem Colony and Clearlake Peninsula per attached map.

The Council shall seek relevant technical information on agenda items, analyze the details of issues and make findings and recommendations where possible, to advise the Supervisor of the District and, when needed, the Board of Supervisors. This analytical function is an important part of prioritizing projects, correcting issues, repairing dysfunctional community qualities, sharing relevant information, and reviewing proposed District 3 projects and other agency actions.

## **Article 2: Meetings**

All ERTH meetings are open to the public and shall be subject to all the requirements of the Brown Act, Government Code sections 54960 et seq.\*\*

Regular monthly or quarterly meetings shall be held at a place within District 3, at a time determined by the Council and approved by the Supervisor.

To facilitate resident participation, a "Special" meeting may replace the regular meeting and be held in a different location, providing notice of date and time was presented at the preceding regular meeting. Notice must be posted 72 hours prior to every meeting.

## **Article 3: Governing Council**

The ERTH Council seeks representation from Spring Valley, the Clearlake Oaks & Glenhaven Business Association, and the Clearlake Oaks Keys POA; but it is not required if unavailable. ERTH Council members are unpaid volunteers appointed by the Board of Supervisors for a twoyear staggered term. Those seeking a seat on the Council must apply, or reapply, at the end of each term to be appointed or reappointed.

#### Section 1: Board Structure

The Board will consist of 5 members - a Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, Records Keeper and Two Members-at-large. The members must be registered voters in the County of Lake, must have attended at least two ERTH meetings in the past year and reside within the ERTH boundaries. ERTH will elect the Chair and Vice Chair annually. The Chair, Vice Chair and Records Keeper will serve for one (1) calendar year, or until replaced by the District Supervisor.

#### Section 2: The Council Members and their duties

The Chairperson shall preside at all meetings and shall set the agenda for each meeting. Should the Chairperson be unable to complete a term, the Vice Chair shall assume the duties of the Chairperson. An election to replace the Chairperson shall be held at the next regularly scheduled meeting.

The Vice-Chairperson shall perform all the duties and assume all the responsibilities of the chairperson when the chairperson is absent. If the Vice-Chair is unable to complete a term a new Vice-Chair shall be elected at the next regular meeting.

The Records Keeper: Shall take notes and keep a contact list of residents seeking or giving information relative to ERTH's mission. The Records Keeper may be filled by a non-Council Member in a non-voting role.

Members-at-Large: May play active roles as Council members and chairs.

**Section 3:** ERTH may create standing and working committees which may include two Council members and any number of non-Council members. All such subcommittees shall be created by a vote of the ERTH council members. Once the scope of work for the subcommittee is obtained, it will bring its findings back to ERTH.

#### Section 4: Replacement of ERTH Member

The Board of Supervisors can remove a Council Member for any reason at any time. Council Members may be removed after three unexcused absences.

### Article 5: Quorum

At least three (3) voting members of the Council shall constitute a quorum. A quorum must be present at all meetings.

### **Article 6: Parliamentary Procedure**

All proceedings shall be conducted in accordance with Rosenberg's Rules of Order, except where those rules conflict with the bylaws.

## **Article 7: Amendments**

ERTH bylaws may be amended at any regular meeting by a majority-plus-one affirmative vote provided the amendment was submitted in writing at the previous regular meeting. The District Supervisor shall agree to the amendment proposed.

Revision 2: Updated 3/5/25. Changes to map and Board terms.



