

COUNTY OF LAKE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS Courthouse - 255 North Forbes Street Lakeport, California 95453 TELEPHONE (707) 263-2368 FAX (707) 263-2207 Moke Simon – District 1 Bruno Sabatier – District 2 Eddie Crandell – District 3 Tina Scott – District 4 Rob Brown – District 5

March 5, 2019

The Honorable Cecilia Aguiar-Curry California State Assemblymember, 4th Assembly District P.O. Box 942849 Sacramento, CA 94249-0004

Dear Assemblymember Aguiar-Curry,

We are grateful for your authorship of AB 632. This letter is intended to convey our unanimous support for and sponsorship of this new legislation.

As you may be aware, on September 18, 2018, we directed our staff to request that your office take steps to add Lake County to the group of counties having the option to consolidate their Treasurer-Tax Collector (T-TC) and Auditor-Controller (A-C) offices.

We very much appreciate your dedication of staff resources to add Lake County to California Government Code Sec. 24304.2 which presently enables the Board of Supervisors in the counties of Mendocino, Santa Cruz, Sonoma, Trinity and Tulare, by ordinance, to consolidate the offices of the A-C and T-TC into one elected office of Auditor-Controller-Treasurer-Tax Collector. AB 632, if passed, will make this possible for Lake County.

While recent election outcomes have solidified both financial offices for the next four years, having this option will enable our Board to take the course that best serves our constituents as future needs arise.

As you are very well aware, our County government is facing numerous and competing financial challenges. On December 4, 2018, our Board adopted a Fiscal Crisis Management Plan (FCMP):

http://www.lakecountyca.gov/Government/Directory/Administration/Visioning/F iscalPlan.htm Seeking the flexibility to consolidate offices is consistent with multiple priorities under our FCMP.

The work of your office on behalf of Lake County in recent years has been truly invaluable, and essential in light of our circumstances. Thank you for ensuring the strength of Lake County is a State priority.

Sincerely,

## LAKE COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Tina Scott, Chair District 4 Moke Simon District 1

Bruno Sabatier District 2 Eddie Crandell District 3

Rob Brown District 5