

Meeting Minutes - Final BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Tuesday, January 31, 2023	9:00 AM	Board Chambers

SPECIAL MEETING - Annual Governance Workshop. Please see agenda for public participation information and eComment submission on any agenda item.

2023 Board of Supervisors Governance Workshop

- 1. Welcome Jessica Pyska, Chair
- 2. Moment of Silence

A moment of silence was dedicated to Don Johnson and Tyre Nichols.

3. Pledge of Allegiance

Led by Sheriff Rob Howe.

4. Vision 2028 Overview - Matthew Rothstein

Deputy County Administrative Officer Matthew Rothstein introduced the item to the Board.

5. Department Head Presentations (5-7 Minutes Each)

Administrative Officer - Susan Parker Agricultural Commissioner - Katherine Vanderwall Air Quality - Doug Gearhart Animal Care & Control - JT Armas Assessor-Recorder - Richard Ford Auditor-Controller/County Clerk - Jenavive Herrington Behavioral Health - Todd Metcalf Child Support Services - Gail Woodworth Community Development - Mireya Turner County Counsel - Anita Grant **District Attorney - Susan Krones** Health/Public Services - Jonathan Portney Information Technology - Shane French Librarian - Christopher Veach **Probation - Wendy Mondfrans** Public Services - Lars Ewing Public Works/ Water Resources - Scott DeLeon Registrar of Voters - Maria Valadez Sheriff/Coroner/ OES - Rob Howe Social Services - Crystal Markytan Special Districts - Scott Harter Tax Collector/Treasurer - Patrick Sullivan U. C. Cooperative Extension/Farm Advisor - John Harper

Deputy County Administrative Officer Matthew Rothstein introduced the item to the Board. County Administrative Officer Susan Parker, Agricultural Commissioner Katherine Vanderwall, Animal Care and Control Director Jonathan Armas, Auditor-Controller Jenevive Herrington, Behavioral Health Director Todd Metcalf, Child Support Services Director Gail Woodworth, Community Development Director Mireya Turner, Chief Building Official Bill Collins, Cannabis Program Manager Andrew Amelung, Code Enforcement Manager Marcus Beltramo, County Counsel Anita Grant, District Attorney Susan Krones, Health Services Director Jonathan Portney, Information Technology Director Shane French, County Librarian Christopher Veach, Chief Probation Officer Wendy Mondfrans, Public Services Director Lars Ewing, Public Works/ Water Resources Director Scott De Leon, Registrar of Voters Maria Valadez, Sheriff Rob Howe, Special Districts Administrator Scott Harter, Treasurer-Tax Collector Patrick Sullivan, UC Extension Director John Harper, and Human Resources Director Pam Samac presented a PowerPoint Presentation to the Board.

Chair Pyska asked if anyone present wished to speak. No one wished to speak and the public input portion of this item was closed.

Presentation Only.

6. Fiscal Presentation - Stephen Carter, Jr.

Property Tax and Sales Tax

ARPA - State and Local Fiscal Recovery Funds

Cannabis Cultivation and Business Taxes

Potential Impacts to Future Budgets Presentation

Assistant County Administrative Officer Stephen Carter presented the item to the Board. County Administrative Officer Susan Parker, Treasurer-Tax Collector Patrick Sullivan, and Behavioral Health Director Todd Metcalf spoke.

Chair Pyska asked if anyone present wished to speak. No one wished to speak and the public input portion of this item was closed.

Presentation Only.

7. Departmental Project Opportunities for Grant Funding Discussion - Susan Parker

County Administrative Officer presented the item to the Board. Behavioral Health Director Todd Metcalf spoke.

Chair Pyska asked if anyone present wished to speak. No one wished to speak and the public input portion of this item was closed.

Presentation Only.

8. Future Steps Discussion - Board of Supervisors

Chair Pyska introduced the item to the Board. Chief Climate Resiliency Officer Terre Logsdon and Community Development Director Mireya Turner spoke.

Chair Pyska asked if anyone present wished to speak. No one wished to speak and the public input portion of this item was closed.

There was Board consensus to include climate resiliency in the vision 2028, receive measurable information from departments, find ways to enhance public safety, and bring back information on benefit packages by the end of March 2023.

9. Adjournment

There being no further business, the Board of Supervisors adjourned at 3:05 p.m.

SUSAN PARKER Clerk of the Board

Johanna Delon By:

Johanna DeLong Assistant Clerk of the Board

Jessica Pyska 14.35 PST)

Chair-Lake County Board of Supervisors

